P. Craig Taylor

Colorado School of Mines

P. Craig Taylor received the A. B. degree from Carleton College, Northfield, Minnesota, in 1964 and the Ph.D. degree from Brown University, Providence, Rhode Island, in 1969.  He was a Research Associate at Brown University and a National Academy of Sciences Postdoctoral Research Associate at the Naval Research Laboratory between 1969 and 1971.  From 1971 to 1982 Dr. Taylor was employed at the Naval Research laboratory where he performed research on the electronic and structural properties of crystalline and amorphous semiconductors.  He spent a sabbatical year at Heriot-Watt University, Edinburgh, Scotland and Cambridge University, Cambridge, England (1976-1977).  In 1982 Dr. Taylor joined the Physics Department at the University of Utah as a Professor.  He was the Chairman of the Physics Department from 1989 to 1998 and appointed to the rank of Distinguished Professor in 2001.  He was also for many years the Director of the John A. Dixon Laser Institute at the University of Utah.  Currently Dr. Taylor is a Professor in the Physics Department and in the Department of Metallurgical and Materials Engineering at the Colorado School of Mines and the Scientific Director for the Center for Revolutionary Solar Photoconversion, the Associate Director of the Colorado Energy Research Institute, and the Director of the Renewable Energy Materials Research Science and Engineering Center.  Dr. Taylor has written over 400 scientific papers including several book chapters and review articles.  He is a Fellow of the American Physical Society and a member of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, the Materials Research Society, and the American Association of Physics Teachers. Selected honors include the Research Publication Award from the Naval Research laboratory in 1975, Department of Energy Certificates for Outstanding Contributions to Photovoltaic Research in 1990 and 1995, a Citation and Medal for Outstanding Professorial Contributions from Brown University in 1992, the Distinguished Scholarly and Creative Research Award from the University of Utah in 2003, and the Mott Lecture in 2005.