Kim Receives 2013 Jamieson Award

DuckYoung Kim, postdoctoral fellow at the Geophysical Laboratory, received the 2013 Jamieson Award at the AIRAPT Conference in Seattle on July 7, 2013. This award is given for outstanding achievement by a graduate student or postdoctoral researcher in the field of high pressure research. AIRAPT President Tetsuo Irifune presented the award.
Kim is the eleventh awardee since the awards inception in 1985. He is preceeded by other EFree members Timothy Strobel (CIW, 2011) and Jonathan C. Crowhurst (LLNL, 1999). 
John Calhoun Jamieson (1924-1983), a professor of geophysics at the University of Chicago, is best known for research under static high pressures.  He also performed shock experiments at Los Alamos and SRI International.  The John C. Jamieson Memorial Fund, which supports the Award, was established by a number of Jamieson's former students and colleagues.  The fund is managed by Bob Schock, a former postdoc of Jamieson and currently Director of the World Energy Council. See this link for more information.
The International Association for the Advancement of High Pressure Science and Technology, also known as Association Internationale pour L'Avancement de la Reserche et de la Technologie aux Hautes Pression (AIRAPT), holds international conferences every two years to promote high-pressure science and technology.